Arriving in Nice

Standard

I arrived in Nice last Tuesday and will be staying until the end of May before I pack my bags and travel beyond French borders and discover or in some cases re-discover other parts of Europe. So far Nice has had its highs and lows. It is a bit cooler than I planned for, thus my wardrobe is lacking warmer clothing. I am now a bundle of several layers, foot warmers along with the standard hat, scarf and gloves. Oh and did I mention double socks? This along with some jet-lag, some interactions with some very rude and unhelpful people and my encounters with two piles of feces, whether they be animal or human, has dampened the mood and mystique a little. Am I being too rash? No, as the other day I saw a lady holding up her toddler while he number two’ed in the street. I think this is what gives France it’s…Je ne sais quoi. However, these instances aside it is hard not to appreciate Nice’s lovely residential buildings, gorgeous ocean views (especially at sunset) and the old town is merveilleuse! The market is plentiful and the boulangeries are endless. The ingredients here are better than those back home too, either that or my cooking has improved! Also,the prices are not only inexpensive, they are down right questionable. Baguette’s are .60 euro, cheese around the 2 euro mark, 5 pieces of duck confit  was 5 euro on sale. Eating here has become a hobby. I’m going to have to start walking the 7km Promenade des Anglais daily if I don’t want to come back as a brick of butter.

                     

So far my daily routine involves drinking cafés and eating entire baguette’s (with the help of my partner, Matt) along with several other snacks and meals, wandering the streets of old Nice, grocery shopping and polishing off a bottle or two of wine. At 2 euro per bottle, this is a routine worth continuing.  Nice is a truly beautiful city, just watch your step and your weight!

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

